#iPadPro #Apple #tablet is a big fat enterprise failure

Some other interesting observations from  for Tech Broiler on ZDNet regarding Apple’s failure to hit a home run in the Enterprise with their iPad Pro.

It’s a frickin’ cheese tray.

ipad-pro-use-pencil

I knew when I ordered the iPad Pro that it was going to be bigger. Yes, I knew the specs on the screen was almost 13″ on the diagonal. But until you actually hold one of these things, you don’t realize just how big it really is.

It’s a frickin’ cheese tray.

My first impression after unboxing the iPad Pro was “Oh my God, that’s a hell of a lot of glass.”

This is a large device that is meant to be propped up on a table, or used lying down on a couch or in bed — which is how I find myself interacting with it pretty much all of the time.

 

I binge watched Amazon’s The Man In the High Castle on it over the weekend, and I was really impressed with display’s color representation and contrast level. However I found it difficult to keep the screen propped up straight as the weight of the device caused it to constantly slip off the pillows I was propping it up on.

On the couch, I laid the device flat on the cushion while I put myself in essentially a prone position with my head directly facing the screen. I’m all for casual work environments, but this is ridiculous.

Sure, you can type with the thing using either Apple’s OEM keyboard case or a number of other 3rd-party solutions, such as Logitech’s, but you can’t adjust the angle of the screen, like the Surface 3 or Surface Pro 4 out of the box.

Ideally what you want is some kind of accessory that places the screen on a 20 or 30 degree angle, because you get a crook in your neck by looking at it lying down flat. And using it on your lap or in a cramped aircraft seat is pretty much out of the question.

 

I spoke with several executives that were considering purchase of the device — every single one of them rejected it after playing with one in person, because the trade-off in functionality from a full-featured laptop was no longer worth it if the device was less convenient to travel with.

While the hefty price was certainly a factor in their decision to either retain their existing iPads or look at other solutions like the Surface Pro 4, it was ultimately the inconvenience that killed the deal for all of these guys, since I would classify them as heavy disposable income types.

And for those that were serious road warriors, putting it in a heavy case to protect it from damage was an absolute deal breaker.

 

I’m sure a niche of content creation types will find new and interesting uses for the iPad Pro, especially once we see some really exploitative apps written to take advantage of the screen, the Pencil and more powerful hardware.

But as an enterprise device, a so-called “Professional” device for business, I think Apple really dropped the ball here.

Leave a Reply

